top of page
Search
  • alantrinder

Away Day 3, Jomtien.

Greetings

I wanted to see just what you could get up to at Jomtien beach, windsurfing and the like (asking for a friend) so that was number 1 on the plan for today but first breakfast which we enjoyed at the Sportsman pub;


Then to catch the baht-bus to Jomtien via a walk along the prom, here's the Relive


I just had to snap this as I didn't see a disabled sticker on the scooter here;


We hopped on the baht-bus which for the princely sum of ฿10 each (doggies free) we were taken to Jomtien where Pin and the monsters settles down on the sandy beach and I went for a stroll.

Bet you would love to see a Relive of that as well...

New you would;


There was a sea breeze and I confess I had forgotten just how the combination of sea air and sun could cut through sunblock and still burn your skin.

Not only skin, I couldn't resist taking this vendors stall just for the parasol;


The sale of alcohol is prohibited on the beach and prom, another "quaint" Thai rule not that it prevents anyone crossing the road to the 7-11 for their refreshments;


Walk over and Pin had been joined by family who were happily munching food from passing vendors and lounging on the deckchairs.

They then announced they were going to the market in Naklua in the evening to buy seafood, have them cook it and then put a mat on the floor to sit and feast.

The seafood is fantastic but this option was not for me and I got a baht-bus back to Pattaya.

Showered and changed I set out to find a bar with football, I knew the sportsman would be showing the official stream but I thought I would have a look round to see where else was showing it, here is a Relive of the wander;


I settled in a bar advertising the game, Sports World, which had a large Aussie contingent watching their particular games.

I enquired which screens the Premier league game would be on and was shown 2 huge screens. "Will the sound be on for the games?" was my next questions and yes was the reply.

I settled down, beer in hand.

The Aussie games finished and the majority of the fans left.

The footy game started, it was on only the one screen and the sound was still tuned to the post match stuff on the aussie sports, I enquired about the sound and was told there were customers still here from the aussie game.

I accept I am a visitor and these were probably locals but I wasn't happy that they could advertise the game and say there would be sound just to renege on the expected event.

I paid my bill and went and found a little bar, the Astro Sports bar, where the boss made sure it was on and I could hear the sound, the feed via android app but it is the service that counts.


Then dinner and if you are wondering what it was, liver and bacon...


That was Saturday at the seaside.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Site

Dear all. Thank you for viewing my site. Much as I love Wix, it is a great platform for my needs, I have filled my free allocation of...

Al's Vlog 10 February

Howdy, With all my storage gone I don't know if this will be posted but let's give it a go. As I am trying to move to a Vlog format at...

Comments


bottom of page