top of page
Search
  • alantrinder

Doi Pui Summit.

Greetings and what a fantastic short hike I have for you today.

Fantastic?

Yes, as as yesterday Thursday I could add another tick in the bucket list, we hiked to the summit of Doi Pui.

I had been close by before but never been to the actual summit and although it is not a particularly long hike (I will call it a hike as it goes off road and into the hills forest and jungle), if does have the ability to get the old heart pumping and the breath shortening.

I cycled to meet up with my friend Bill, for info I did Relive the cycle ride and it is on my Relive web if you want to see it as is the return, just click HERE I was carrying some of Pins Chiang Mai sausage to him, if you don't know what Chiang Mai sausage looks like here is a snap form the Ian and Francis tasting experience way back in 2019 and a snap taken today to show that we don't order chilli in little bags here, we use industrial quantities...


an hour later and we were at the Doi Pui campsite ready to start the trek, here you go time to Relive it;


The trail is quite overgrown and quite a few bits have fallen into disrepair with Covid having virtually shut the country down for 2 years or more;


Some things however, like this fallen tree have signs pointing the importance of the decay cycle to the environment.


There are some fascinating creepers on this trail (I am talking of the plants not my hiking partner 555)


And then up to the summit; Did you know we are at the bottom end of the Himalayas?


I think I have only been on 3 hikes where I have been to summit markers, this being the third unlike my friend David Whitfield who collects trig points all the time.

From there we walked on coming to these water collecting structures, maybe for a new form of aftershave, the water was a little aromatic, in a reasonable pleasant way.


Then to the birdwatching area, we think constructed for the Princess.


Down the steps and along the ridge where there were some decent views.


And then back spotting this reinforced tree along the way, we have seen a few of these in the area, no idea why they are like this do you know?


And this tree was just begging to be photographed;



We took the easy route back just to see what it was like and when we got to the road we say that the area we had been in was supposedly closed because of the danger of fires at this time...


Then down along to the campsite and the end of the hike.



The coffee shop was closed so we had to drive to another, very nice coffee it was.

These treks just have to conclude with coffee.

And that was a really enjoyable Thursday morning.


 

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Site

Dear all. Thank you for viewing my site. Much as I love Wix, it is a great platform for my needs, I have filled my free allocation of...

Al's Vlog 10 February

Howdy, With all my storage gone I don't know if this will be posted but let's give it a go. As I am trying to move to a Vlog format at...

Comments


bottom of page