top of page
Search
  • alantrinder

Loy Krathong in Chiang Mai

Greetings and welcome to a special blog!

Special because the content is not of my making but of a rather talented photographer, journalist and visual artist Alan Puzey.

He has allowed me to incorporate his work, I hope it enables you to see what a fantastic festival Loy Krathong is in this wonderful city.

Here it is, all copy and photos © Alan Puzey.

Helpful hint, the photos can be clicked for full size.

 

Thailand's most popular annual festival returned after nearly 3 year's absence due to covid. The crowds returned to Chiang Mai in particular, and here are some of my pictures from the past few days.


Firstly here are some pictures of the recently refurbished section of the Mae Kha Canal, which has instantly become one of the trendiest locations in Thailand, and was to prove so during the festival.


So once Loy Krathong arrived, the old "Stinky Canal" was set to become even more popular.



All around town, decorations were going up fast,


and events were taking place; this show at Thapae Gate,


which was surrounded with the largest collection of decorations in Chiang Mai.


The riverside was easily the most crowded area for much of its length.



A focal point was a stage for dancing, light show and fireworks,



Beside which was a large billboard honouring their majesties.



This festival was better organized than previous ones, which was essential after the covid period, when large crowds were expected to flood back to Chiang Mai.



And the floating of krathongs was well organized with small groups at safety piers.



Not to be forgotten, there was a 'blood moon' total lunar eclipse at the same time as the festival.



The crowding on the Tuesday evening was so severe, that at a late point I was forced to shackle my bicycle to a lamppost before I could get away, and luckily it was there, unvandalized, Wednesday morning.



Three Kings monument had fabulous displays of candles surrounding it.



And for me, the most original show at this year's festival was a light & sound show projected onto Chedi Luang.



After which I cycled madly through town to catch some of the parade in a crowded Thapae Road.



That's it for 2022, and it's so great for Chiang Mai 'to be back' after covid. Many of these events are better seen in video and I hope to present you with some of those.

© Alan Puzey.



23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Site

Dear all. Thank you for viewing my site. Much as I love Wix, it is a great platform for my needs, I have filled my free allocation of...

Al's Vlog 10 February

Howdy, With all my storage gone I don't know if this will be posted but let's give it a go. As I am trying to move to a Vlog format at...

Comments


bottom of page