top of page
Search
  • alantrinder

Old Eyes Cycle

Greetings all, hope you are well.

Not an earthshattering blog today, here we go....


I love my laptop with its 4K OLED scree the images are truly wonderful but at 16" and multi app multi tasking nowadays the screen isn't big enough and that isn't helped by the fact that my eyes just ain't what they used to be.

I have added a small portable screen but it is still not quite to my liking so after a lot of umming and arring I have decided to bolt a big screen, especially as I had taken a bit of a liking to these curved screens the gamers love and in particular one that Huawei has in its range, classed by them as 3K although most would label it a s UHD 4K I took the lapdog to Huawei shop at airport mall where I had seen it the week before.

As happens when you don't make an immediate decision my first disappointment was the screen was now about £25 more expensive than last week, still I had come here to try it so we set it up but that was hardly hassle free. Also I could only connect via HDMI although it may be that that is a restriction of my laptop. I couldn't quite get it right, the picture was not quite what I expected and also they said the price did not include an HDMI cable and I got no answer on delivery and setting up (if only because it is rather heavy and I suspect the screen and base will have to be assembled).

As the Huawei website recommends connection via USB I decided to go home and check out this further before purchasing.

I knew Chi Chang had this model still at the old price so I went to ask if I wanted one would they stick one in the showroom for me to try. The helpful man said yes and whilst he was finding out when this would be possible I spotted a Samsung 4K 32" screen with smart TV built in.

The reviews of this product are OK, they don't put it in the professional post processing video editing class but hey, I am a snapper and a blogger, nobody has ever said wow how much to use the photo to me 😢

I plugged it in and set up was a doddle, the picture good sound OK and not only that my Phone will connect directly to it so maybe I can do more on Relive at a size I can actually see 😃.

Not only that, the price was close to £200 cheaper than the Huawei. As I was waiting to pay, the nice Chi Chang man said there is a newer model if you prefer it. He mentioned improved gaming optimisation to which I commented I don't think space invaders needs 4K, he gave me a blank look...

I don't game I said, OK and the colour control and setting are improved.

The new model was an additional £75 but I was still well over £100 in pocket compared to the Huawei and the look of the test photos and video were not bad, not bad at all, just out of interest one of the snaps I used to check if I liked it was this one;


Wow, he said Wat Lok Moli, and said to others come look at this 😃

I plumped for the new model arranged delivery and set up and continues along the way.

Chi Chang really need another flagship store area but they are, in my opinion, the best place in the city.

Here is the Relive;


Retail therapy for old blokes...

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Site

Dear all. Thank you for viewing my site. Much as I love Wix, it is a great platform for my needs, I have filled my free allocation of...

Al's Vlog 10 February

Howdy, With all my storage gone I don't know if this will be posted but let's give it a go. As I am trying to move to a Vlog format at...

Comments


bottom of page