top of page
Search
  • alantrinder

Rainy Season on Doi Pui

Greetings, hope you are well.

It has been a while since Bill and I have been to the coffee research station cafe and we figured it was about time we sampled their brews once more.

Our starting point was the Doi Pui campsite and to get there it was a ride on the Burg;


As you will see from the Relive, the campsite is up in them thar hills and Garmin maps the start elevation at 1532m.

The campsite is closed, we believe and this is confirmed by the signs, to maintain the environment in the rainy season. Google maps will tell you it is permanently closed, I will try to correct in case you are planning a night under canvas when the rain takes its leave of the area.



This walk always seems to be back to front to me as you start on the highest point if you are staying on the road (which today we had decided was the thing to do) and descend to the coffee research station which means starting at 1532m and descending in under 3 km to 1360m a drop of 172m although Garmin doesn't quite arrive at the same number. Whichever way you look at it there are some bloody steep bits on the road possible the steepest right at the start and my old legs certainly knew I had been on a walk, short of not by the time it was over.

Enough prattle, here is the Relive;


It is a fantastic area here are just a few snaps;


The rain has caused quite a few landslides;


As we had our coffee the clouds were gathering;


Nice coffee;


No more snaps, we set of back hoping to stay dry...

We didn't not far on the way back it started to rain and it rained and rained.

The waterproof jacket helped a little but it does channel water straight to the trouser legs đŸ˜”â€đŸ’«.

Rather drenched it was time to mount my sodden arse on the Burg for the ride home.

The rain stopped by the time I neared the city and the hot air dried a lot of me out by the time I got home but not my arse...

Coffee.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Site

Dear all. Thank you for viewing my site. Much as I love Wix, it is a great platform for my needs, I have filled my free allocation of...

Al's Vlog 10 February

Howdy, With all my storage gone I don't know if this will be posted but let's give it a go. As I am trying to move to a Vlog format at...

コメント


bottom of page