top of page
Search
  • alantrinder

Seaside shuffles and all that

Greetings all,

I wanted to get out for a decent ride on the Burg and as I had reason to recce Jomtien and Pattaya with the tourists flocking back 🙄 The was where I elected to go.

It's about 850km so I figured on 2 days ride to the seaside and as it has been years since I had used highway 11, I told Google that was the way I wanted to go.

However at Lampang, not 100km in, Google wanted to reroute me via highway 1.

Borning I thought...

But there were reasons...

I found multiple major roadworks on highway 11, huge expanses of roads being remade and the bits that weren't were still as pockmarked as ever 😡.

Plus, a very helpful hint from Unsanctioned Rider Charles Winter to use car no highway no toll setting seemed to have a lot of merit upon reflection I hope better shown on vlog later).

Upon reflection because for some other reasons I didn't take the advice and I found Google regards the bike setting as "via and little back way it pleases".

Here is the Relive which on this occasion I have incorporated the placeest

Here is the Relive which on this occasion I have incorporated the place names. Unfortunately Relive doesn't translate these a request to them that has fallen on deaf ears...


Tropical downpour, moon-crater sized holes back roads and a bit of WTF am I? and I got there, tired but happy.

I checked into Lek hotel, on soi 7, they have parking, included breakfast (which I recall at Lek Villa used to be excellent) and was a decent price at just over 600฿ per night. Here's a few snaps;


Freshened up I wandered off for food, I decided not to eat at Kiss



But insead called at Paddy's to say hi to the owner and enjoy a nice chili;


A couple of beers on the way back;


And sleep.


Day 2 and the full Jomtien seaside day.

Which started with a Lek breakfast,

Unfortunately it is not the buffet of old at Lek Villa;


Good coffee mind you 😋.

Then off for a walk down the beach road;



Then I took the ฿ bus to Pattaya, ฿10 to have a quick scout round for somewhere to stay for the night after this.

Of course I called for a couple of drinks, Cheap Charlies, Robins Nest before food at Kiss;


Then Jomtien at night;


How quickly the time goes by...


Day 3 and on to Pattaya.


I wanted a day in Pattaya and to meet up with a friend, no rush mind you so first the Lek breakfast;



Then hop on the Burg and off to Pattaya, via the viewpoint;


Arriving in Pattaya I wanted a place to stay and as Lek Villa has a great pool and a rather good buffet breakfast plus a parking that is where I decided to try first.

To my shock (and horror) I found the restaurant to be closed. And, being a creature of habit, I then went to Oakwood journeyhub a rather good hotel we use when the family and monsters are with us;


They have a buffet breakfast but this hotel is also close to Cheap Charlie's and I did fancy trying the Cheap Charlie breakfast 😋.

The rooms are really good here;


And the bed, super comfortable...

Then out for a beer or two to meet a friend passing a lime green Range Rover... What is the world coming to???


It was good to see the beer garden is doing fine;


Dinner was at Cheap Charlies where they do a mixed roast;



And on the way back to the hotel I called in a little bar I know. Needing the loo I was glad I only needed to pee...


I hadn't noticed before I did this post that what I thought was a "no crapping" sign is actually a "no farting" sign 😮.


Day 4, Starting home.


Rested packed and ready for the off and a short hop to Cheap Charlies for breakfast;


And onwards where once again the advice that using the motorcycle setting can lead down some odd little ways, here is the Relive, (more on the vlog to come I hope);


Still I got there safe and sound.

there being Tak where I decided enough was enough for that day and it was time to chill.

I checked into the hotel, decent room and having cleaned myself up a little, I nipped out to have a look at the little market nearby;


Then a walk by the river Ping;


The footbridge didn't arf wobble as you walked on it...

Then back to the hotel for dinner and a beer or two.



Day 5, the last short bit home.


Nice and rested and the final day of the ride was a short less than 300km highway ride home.

The only real threat was one of rain, there had been rain overnight at the hotel, heavy enough to wake me and early morning I received a text from my friend Bill in Chaing Mai talking of a torrential downpour.

I know, thought I time for breakfast...


I packed the Burg and decided I would see how far I got before having to don the wet weather gear, here is the Relive;


I got home without the need for the wet gear, seaside ride over.


Great to be riding again.

Coffee.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Site

Dear all. Thank you for viewing my site. Much as I love Wix, it is a great platform for my needs, I have filled my free allocation of...

Al's Vlog 10 February

Howdy, With all my storage gone I don't know if this will be posted but let's give it a go. As I am trying to move to a Vlog format at...

Comentários


bottom of page