top of page
Search
  • alantrinder

Wat Phra That Doi Suthep Ratchaworawihan

Wat Phra That Doi Suthep is most probably the most famous and visited of the many many temples in Chiang Mai.



It stands on the mountain of Doi Suthep which looks over the city and there are wonderful city views from the temple itself.


It is said to contain a part of a bone from Buddha and in legend, a white elephant carrying this piece was released into the wild and it climbed up the mountain now called Doi Suthep.

The elephant stopped, trumpeted 3 times, and dropped dead and as this was taken to be an omen, the King Nu Naone of La Na ordered the construction of the temple.


It was Jon and Jansee's last full day here in Chiang Mai and we took the opportunity to visit this magnificent Wat. Here are some snaps as a slideshow.


Then it was time for a massage at the Chiang Mai Women's Correctional Institution

The prison has a Thai massage training programme to help inmates adjust to the free world; members of the general public may receive massages from prisoners. Prisoners who participate in the programme can earn money from tips. A former warden's residence, Ruean Pathammarong, is used as the massage parlor.

And after the massage, a nice coffee.


Did I say coffee...

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Site

Dear all. Thank you for viewing my site. Much as I love Wix, it is a great platform for my needs, I have filled my free allocation of...

Al's Vlog 10 February

Howdy, With all my storage gone I don't know if this will be posted but let's give it a go. As I am trying to move to a Vlog format at...

Comentários


bottom of page